2018 Conference Opening Reception, Humboldt

2022 CMA Awards Ceremony

Register now for the 2022 CMA Awards Ceremony

Come celebrate excellence and achievement at the 2022 CMA Awards. To be held virtually, this exciting event recognizes and celebrates the Canadian museum community. A league of volunteer jurors has carefully considered over 60 nominations and have named winners in all categories of the CMA Awards of Outstanding Achievement, the Award of Distinguished Service, the Museum Volunteer Award and a 2022 presentation of the CMA President’s Award.

2022 CMA Awards Ceremony
Virtual event
June 29th – 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT

Click here to register!


Presentation details:

2022 CMA Awards Ceremony

Hosted by Heather George, Armando Perla and Sandra Zapata, with special presentations from the Canadian Federation of the Friends of Museums, Tracy Calagheros and Mike Wallace, Past-President of the CMA Board.

Event will run approximately 2.5 hours.

Presentation order:

Museum Volunteer Award

This award recognizes individuals or groups who generously volunteer their time and commitment to a museum or related heritage institution and who have made a sustaining impact.

This award is a collaboration between the CMA and the Canadian Federation of Friends of Museums (CFFM).

2021 Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Museums: History Alive!

An acknowledgement of 2021 winners: the Textile Museum of Canada and West Baffin Eskimo Cooperative, Toronto, Ontario, and Kinngait, Nunavut. The award will be presented formally by the Governor General at a ceremony later this year.

Awards of Outstanding Achievement

These awards recognize exceptional museum projects in the following categories:

Stewardship of Collections
Audience Outreach
Social Impact

CMA President’s Award

This award provides the Association with the opportunity to recognize exceptional contributions that may not easily fit or are not appropriate in the competitive Awards of Outstanding Achievement program.

Award of Distinguished Service

This award recognizes significant contributions by individuals to the Canadian museum sector throughout the course of their careers.

Presentation of the new CMA Fellow

CMA’s highest individual honour. CMA Fellows are those in our community who have contributed in a distinctive and exemplary fashion to their profession, have contributed to the advancement of museums and have made a significant contribution to the work of the CMA.

Please register now for June 29 – we look forward to welcoming you!

Get Our Newsletter