2018 Conference Opening Reception, Humboldt

MAS Board President Teresa Carlson Resigns

Posted by Michelle Brownridge on August 14th, 2019

MAS Board President Teresa Carlson has announced her resignation as she and her husband are moving to British Columbia. We wish Teresa all the best in the next phase of their journey in BC. The Saskatchewan heritage community will miss you! MAS Vice-President Corinne Daelick will serve as MAS President and director Merissa Scarlett will now serve as Vice-President. Yvonne Hotzak continues to serve as Past-President. Please see below for a message Teresa:

It is with sadness that I am informing you of my resignation from my position as President of the Museums Association of Saskatchewan Board of Directors. My husband Keith and I have moved to British Columbia where he has accepted a Canada Research Chair at the University of the Fraser Valley. This is a bitter-sweet move for us. We are returning to BC and will be closer to family and aging parents, but we are also leaving Saskatoon, which has been our home for almost twenty years.
The time we have spent in Saskatchewan will always be special to us. We are so fortunate to have been able to raise our two sons in Saskatoon, and to have made friends who have become our family. We have also been lucky to have worked in the heritage field. I will never forget the dedicated individuals who work tirelessly to preserve and share the rich inheritance of this storied province. As the face of Saskatchewan shifts, you are adapting to ensure that the province’s interpretation of our heritage continues to grow and be relevant. I wish I could have remained as President, and to have been able to stay longer to witness and be a part of these changes, but I will have to be content with watching from two provinces away.
I’d like to thank all of the MAS board for their unfailing support while I’ve been on the executive. I especially want to acknowledge Carol Prentice and Rob Hubic who “showed me the ropes.” I will always be indebted to Yvonne Hotzak (Past President) for her mentorship and for being a patient guide. I applaud Corinne Daelick, who has graciously taken over my position, for her commitment to MAS. I cannot forget Wendy Fitch, who has been a tolerant teacher. I’d also like to recognize the MAS staff for their continuing hard work. And, a special thank you to all of you MAS members. It has been my privilege and honour to have served as your President.
Best wishes to you all,


‹ MAS Summer 2019 Quarterly Report Available Online

Diefenbaker house given special designation ›

Get Our Newsletter